Planes Trains Automobiles AND Boats! Welcome to Venice Italy!

26 Feb

I have taken just a few of the pics from my first day in Italy and POLADROIDed them!  You may remember when I used the poladroid for my PARIS PICS on my last blog HERE.

This has been quite the adventure already!  I have never been on a REALLY BIG plane before.  I can’t recall what type of plane it actually was and I no longer have my boarding pass which may have told me, but it was big AND as a side note for others who fly often, and may be as obsessed with their Continental One Pass miles as I am, it was interesting that this was a plane with the Continental logo on the tail but the brand spelled across it’s belly was U N I T E D. That was the first time I have seen physical evidence of the merger.

Milan’s airport was very instinctive and operated pretty much just as any other airport experience except for the addition of customs, but I swear to you if you blink or sneeze you’ll have missed the entire customs process altogether, I was stamped and through it before I even realized I had been in a customs line.

The immediate recognition of Italian as the primary language coming out of nearly everyone’s mouth and standing next to an actual supermodel at baggage claim were otherwise the only indicators that I had essentially woken up across the ocean and in another country.

Turns out that Italian is not remotely instinctive to me.  I keep trying to use French here and cannot, no matter how many time I refer to my guide book, commit to memory language basics, “oui” falls out of my mouth instead of “si”.  EVERY.TIME.

Leaving the airport I took an hour long bus ride to Milan’s Central Station (pictured above) where I caught my train to Venice, and then took a water taxi to Piazza San Marco, which is where my hotel is (thankfully) located.  I am grateful for having selected the hotel that I did because the labrynth of walkways are so confusing that all I need to do is make my way back to the Piazza and I have found my hotel.

Speaking of my hotel…the room is as charming as it appeared on the internet and I LOVE it!  the picture below is the the roof across from my bedroom window.

Well, not spending much time online, but tonight is CARNAVAL here in Venice, so I am sure to be taking a LOT of photos and hope to get a chance in the next couple days to get more pics posted.

Ciao for now!  And you can revisit Paris Trip 09 pics HERE too if you want to take a visual vacation!

ALL ITALY PICS HERE

xoxoxo danielle

Leave a Reply

