NYC part 1: work.

23 Feb

This past week I flew back out to NYC for another work related buying trip (and if i’m telling the truth there was also a lot of personal shopping too!).  Typically the trade show’s are so exhausting, short of a little dinner, or perhaps a little shopping or a show, it’s a lot less play and a lot more work than it was in the days of owning just a tiny little boutique.

This time was a bit more special however, because I headed to NYC the weekend before my trade show along with my mother and BFF so that we could shop for a wedding dress for my upcoming nuptials.  In the days before work and in the evenings of my work week, I filled every moment with the best NYC had to offer this time around and soaked up every minute of it.  Wes (my fiance) even showed up the last couple days to make being away from home (and him) a lot easier!

On Monday, our assistant buyer, Jen from Dredgers Union and Jennie from my other store, ROOM SERVICE and I set out to the shows and secured some VERY EXCITING and cozy products for Fall 2012.  I’d like to show you pics of everything we bought, but that will have to wait for a little while longer.

In the meantime however, I’ll share some pics of the shows themselves.  We attend 5 shows in this 3 day period and they run the gamut from highly curated & small venues to HUGE venues with seemingly everything under the sun under their giant roofs.  I always wish I had a pedometer on me when I am there, because I swear we must walk 10-15 miles a day while at these shows!

(ABOVE) The Starret Lehigh building in Chelsea is one of my favorites for its mass and beautifully rounded leaded window panes.  Just beautiful.  Inside this building in a few giant empty studios is one of the shows I attend.  It is a smaller, curated collection of goods. Then, up the street is another building of studios, housing more curated shows.

Below is the view from the Starret Lehigh and below that are a few interior images of the smaller shows.

Below is the very imposing JAVITZ CONVENTION CENTER.  To say it is huge would be a staggering understatement.  We walk it in it’s entirety.  It takes days, of course.

it is very difficult to capture it’s interior scale, but it is long aisle after long aisle of visual and mental stimulus.  When you leave this building your brain will hurt as badly as your feet and legs.

Fortunately, our buying assistant can also double as a model, making some buying choices much clearer and easier to make.  (coat on jen arriving fall 2012 – skirts shown below that will be arriving NEXT MONTH!).

coming up soon will be a few more posts on this particular trip to NYC.

xoxoxo

danielle

2 Responses to “NYC part 1: work.”

  1. Rebecca February 27, 2012 at 2:33 am #

    I am in LOVE with those skirts, are they by April, May?! I hope they are long enough for tall people!!

    • danielle216 March 2, 2012 at 3:59 pm #

      No, but i LOVE the line April, May (french line, so of course i love it!)!!! I’ve been afraid to order them for the store because they would be the highest priced line we carry but it’s such an exquisite collection! These are a MUCH more affordable option, they will retail at like, $78 or something like that!

Leave a comment